skip navigation

Penalty Shot

Situation 1

The Referee has signaled a delayed minor penalty for charging on Team A. Team B maintains possession of the puck and a Team B player is fouled from behind on a breakaway resulting in a penalty shot call. Is the minor penalty assessed in the normal manner and if so, what happens if a goal is scored on the penalty shot?

The charging penalty is assessed in the normal manner regardless as to whether a goal is scored during the penalty shot. Rule References 406(a), 402(c) and 409(b).

Only one delayed minor penalty can be terminated as the result of a goal. In this instance, the penalty shot is awarded in lieu of the minor penalty for a “fouled from behind,” which takes the place of the minor penalty being assessed. A goal scored on a penalty shot does not terminate a different minor penalty.

Situation 2

With the defending goalkeeper in goal and with his team shorthanded by a minor penalty, an attacking player on a breakaway in his Attacking Zone is hooked down from behind. While the Referee is signaling a delayed penalty shot, the fouled player, while maintaining possession of the puck, gets to his feet and scores a goal. What penalty should the Referee assess?

A minor penalty for hooking. Rule References 406(a) and 402(c).

Since the non-offending team scored on the play, a penalty shot cannot be assessed. However, the minor penalty for hooking is assessed to the offending player and the minor penalty being served is terminated as a result of the goal being scored.

Situation 3

With the defending goalkeeper in goal and with his team short-handed by a minor penalty, an attacking player on a breakaway in his Attacking Zone is hooked down from behind. While the Referee is signaling a delayed penalty shot, a teammate of the fouled player gains possession of the puck and scores a goal. What penalty should the Referee assess?

A minor penalty for hooking. Rule References 406(a) and 402(c).

Since the non-offending team scored on the play, a penalty shot cannot be assessed. However, the minor penalty for hooking is assessed to the offending player and the minor penalty being served is terminated as a result of the goal being scored.

Situation 4

Can a team change its goalkeeper to defend against a penalty shot? Yes. Rule Reference 406(b).

The goalkeeper who was in the goal at the time of the infraction is not required to defend against the penalty shot. If the team wishes to change goalkeepers for the penalty shot, the change must be made immediately. However, a non- goalkeeper may not defend against the shot.

Situation 5

When the substitute goalkeeper enters the goal for the purpose of defending against a penalty shot, can the original goalkeeper resume his position after the shot has been completed?

Yes. Rule References 406(b) and 205(d).

In this instance, the penalty shot would have been considered resuming play and the conclusion of the penalty shot constitutes the next stoppage of play.

Situation 6

A defending player throws his stick at the puck in his Defending Zone, however the puck was last in possession of a defending player. The Referee stops play and awards a penalty shot to the non-offending team. Which player shall take the penalty shot?

Any player who was on the ice at the time of the infraction. Rule References 406(b) and 637(a).

The Captain of the non-offending team must designate the player to take the shot.

Situation 7

Player #10 of Team A, in his Attacking Zone, carries the puck in front of his opponent’s goal. The goalkeeper throws his stick and hits the puck, deflecting it away from player #10. The Referee signals a delayed penalty shot. During the delay, player #10 of Team A commits an infraction that calls for a minor penalty. When play stops the Referee awards a penalty 

shot to #10 and also assesses him the minor penalty. Is he allowed to take the penalty shot before going to the penalty bench to serve his penalty?

Yes. Rule References 406(b) and 637(a).

Assuming the team accepts the penalty shot, player #10 is allowed to complete the shot before serving his penalty. Had the infraction called for a Game Misconduct or Match Penalty, however, player #10 would not be allowed to take the shot and the Captain must select a player, on the ice at the time of the infraction, to take the shot.

Situation 8

What happens if a player designated to take a penalty shot refuses to surrender his stick, or breaks the stick intentionally, when a request for a stick measurement has been made before the shot is taken?

The offending player shall be assessed a minor penalty plus a misconduct. Rule References 406(b) and 301(d).

He shall be allowed to take the shot before serving his penalty, but he may not use the stick that has been deemed to be illegal.

Situation 9

A player to whom a penalty shot has been awarded is assessed a Match penalty before the penalty shot has been taken. Who shall take the shot?

A teammate, other than a goalkeeper, who was on the ice at the time of the infraction shall take the shot. Rule Reference 406(b).

This player shall be designated by the Captain of the non- offending team.

Situation 10

During a Penalty Shot attempt, the puck rebounds off the goal post, hits the back of the goalkeeper’s leg and enters the goal. Should the goal be awarded or disallowed?

The goal shall be awarded. Rule Reference 406(c).

Even though the rule states that no goal shall be scored on a rebound, this situation is not considered to be a “rebound” and instead is interpreted to be a continuation of the original shot. The word “rebound” means a second shot by the player after a deflection off the goalkeeper or goal post.

Situation 11

During a penalty shot attempt, the puck is shot over the goal, rebounds off the glass, hits the goalkeeper in the back and enters the goal. Should the goal be allowed?

No. Rule Reference 406(c).

As stated in the rule, the play is considered complete once the puck has crossed the goal line.

Situation 12

On a penalty shot attempt, the player, after touching the puck at center ice, loses control of the puck. This forces him to go back and retrieve the puck which is still in motion towards the opponent’s goal line. Should the shot be terminated at this point?

No. As long as the puck continues in motion toward the opponent’s goal line, the player may go back to retrieve it. Rule Reference 406(c).

However, once the puck is touched by the player taking the shot, if possession and control is lost and it travels toward the opposite goal or comes to a stop, the Referee shall have no alternative but to terminate the penalty shot attempt.

Situation 13

Is a player taking a penalty shot permitted to skate behind his own goal, without the puck, before attempting to score on the opposing goalkeeper?

Yes. Rule Reference 406(c).

A player may wind up in his own Defending Zone without the puck. However, once the player taking the shot touches the puck, he must skate directly toward the opposing goal.

Situation 14

Is a player taking a penalty shot permitted to carry the puck into his Defending Zone before continuing in on goal? No. Rule Reference 406(c).

Once the player taking the shot touches the puck, he must skate in the direction of the opposing goal. This information should be included in the instructions provided to the player prior to the penalty shot.

Situation 15

A player on a penalty shot attempt carries the puck into the Attacking Zone backwards. As he crosses the blue line, he loses control of the puck momentarily. Should the Referee call the off-side violation?

No. Rule Reference 406(c).

Because play is not considered to be in progress, off-sides cannot be called on a player during a penalty shot attempt.

Situation 16

Team A has been awarded a penalty shot due to a foul committed by a player of Team B. Can the goalkeeper of Team B go to the players’ bench to receive instructions, prior to the commencement of the penalty shot, without being changed?

No. Rule References 406(c) and 205(e).

If the goalkeeper goes to his players’ bench, he must be replaced or a bench minor penalty assessed to his team. Any instructions must be relayed to him by a player of his team while he remains in the goal area prior to the penalty shot.

Situation 17

During a penalty shot attempt and before the player takes the shot, the goalkeeper poke-checks the puck. The puck reverses direction, strikes the leg of the player taking the shot, and goes directly into the goal. Is this a legal goal?

No. Rule Reference 406(c).

When the goalkeeper poke-checked the puck, there was a change of possession and the puck was no longer moving forward.

Situation 18

During a penalty shot attempt and before the player takes the shot, the goalkeeper attempts to poke-check the puck. The puck rolls over the goalkeeper’s stick, strikes the leg of the player taking the shot, who is now behind the goalkeeper and between the goalkeeper and the post. The puck deflects off the player and enters the goal. Is this a legal goal?

Yes. Rule References 406(c) and 617(b.3).

Since the puck continued towards the goal and did not reverse direction, the goal would be allowed provided the player taking the shot did not direct the puck into the goal.

Situation 19

Does the opposing goalkeeper need to go to his player’s bench during the taking of a penalty shot attempt or during game winning shots?

The goalkeeper shall not be required to “be on their players’ bench.” Rule Reference 406(c).

The opposing goalkeeper may remain in his goal crease area during the penalty shot/game winning shot attempt. However, if the non-defending goalkeeper interferes in any manner with the opposing goalkeeper during the shot attempt, and as a result a goal is scored, the goal shall be disallowed and a second attempt shall be permitted. If a second similar occurrence happens, the offending goalkeeper shall be assessed a game misconduct penalty immediately.

Situation 20

What happens if the goalkeeper commits a minor or major penalty infraction during a penalty shot attempt?

The Referee shall allow the shot to be taken over if a goal was not scored on the original attempt, and assess the penalty to the goalkeeper. Rule References 406(d) and 409(d).

Any penalty must be assessed as if it occurred during the normal course of the game. The goalkeeper penalty must be served by a player on the ice at the time play was stopped to assess the penalty shot.

Situation 21

During a penalty shot attempt, the goalkeeper deliberately dislodges the goal when the shooter is at the top of the face-off circles. What penalties, if any, should be assessed?

A second attempt shall be awarded and a minor penalty for delaying the game shall be assessed to the goalkeeper. Rule References 406(d), 610(e) and 409(d).

The play must be stopped immediately in this instance.

Situation 22

During a penalty shot attempt, what happens if the player taking the shot is injured by reason of a high sticking penalty infraction by the goalkeeper?

The Referee must assess a major and a game misconduct penalty to the goalkeeper. He will also allow the shot to be taken over if a goal was not scored on the original shot. Rule References 406(d) and 621(b).

If the injured player is unable to take another shot, the Referee must allow the shot to be taken over by any other player who was on the ice at the time of the original infraction.

Situation 23

A penalty shot is awarded. While the shot is being taken another puck is thrown onto the playing surface. What procedure should the Referee follow?

Allow the play to continue. Rule References 406(d) and 632(d).

However, if the Referee deems that either the player taking the shot or the goalkeeper is unfairly interfered with or distracted by the illegal puck, he may stop the play and order the penalty shot to be taken over.

Coaches have kept sports alive in 2020. Has your kid's coach helped them through this crisis?Nominate them   for a chance to win $2500!