skip navigation


Situation 1

A player checks an opponent with two hands on the stick and the blade of the stick on the ice. May this be considered crosschecking?

No. Rule Reference 609Note.

A cross-check is a check delivered with the stick while the player has two hands on the stick and the blade off the ice. However, if there is no attempt to play the puck and the player extends the arms with force for the purpose of delivering a check with the stick and with both hands on the stick, a penalty for cross-checking is warranted.

Situation 2

Two players are battling in front of the goal and competing for body position. The defensive player uses the stick – with no extension of the arms – to “steer” the attacking player in a desired direction. May this be considered cross-checking?

No. Rule Reference 609Note.

Even though two hands are on the stick and the blade may be off the ice, the fact that the arms have not been extended and no check is being delivered means that cross-checking has not occurred. Of course, if a competitive advantage is gained and there is no puck in the area, an interference penalty may apply.

However, if at any time the arms are extended and deliberate contact is made with the opponent by the stick with both hands on the stick, a cross-checking infraction has occurred.

This most often occurs in front of the goal when a player believes the officials are not watching or along the boards when a player is protecting the puck by having their back turned to center ice. In this instance, the opponent will extend the arms and make contact to the back of the opponent with the stick, but not use enough force to be considered a check from behind. This action should still be considered a cross-checking violation.