skip navigation

Calling of Penalties

Situation 1

Player A1 has committed an infraction calling for a misconduct penalty while Team B is in possession of the puck. How does the Referee indicate that the infraction has occurred?

He does not signal the infraction in any way. Rule Reference 409(a Note 2).

As soon as Team A acquires possession and control of the puck, he will blow the whistle to stop play and assess the penalty. The reason for not signaling is that this penalty is not considered a “team” penalty, but rather a “player” penalty. A result of the Referee signaling the penalty would be the substituting of a sixth skater for the Team B goalkeeper, and Team B is not entitled to this advantage.

Situation 2

A delayed penalty is to be called on Team A. Team B pulls their goalkeeper. Team B, in possession of the puck, attempts a pass which deflects off a player of Team A and enters the Team B goal. Is the goal allowed?

Yes. The goal is allowed and the minor penalty is assessed. Rule References 409(a & c).

The deflection (by Glossary definition) shall not be considered to be “possession and control.”

Situation 3

Player A1 has committed an infraction calling for a minor penalty. The Referee signals the infraction immediately, but cannot stop play because Team B has possession of the puck. During this delay he observes another minor penalty committed by Team A. How shall he signal this second infraction?

No further signal is given. Rule Reference 409(a).

When possession and control of the puck is gained by Team A, the Referee shall stop play and assess both penalties in the normal manner.

Situation 4

During play, the Referee signals a penalty to #17 on Team A. During the same play, #17 commits another infraction. Before the offending team can gain possession of the puck to stop play, Team B scores. What penalties, if any, are affected by the goal?

The first penalty is terminated as a result of the goal and the 2nd penalty is assessed in the normal manner. Rule References 409(b) and 402(c).

A goal can only nullify one signaled minor or bench minor penalty. The first minor will be recorded on the scoresheet and then terminated. The second penalty is recorded and served in the normal manner.

Situation 5

On a delayed penalty call to a player who is about to be assessed a major penalty for slashing plus a minor penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct, a goal is scored by the non- offending team. Is any penalty terminated?

Yes. The minor penalty for unsportsmanlike conduct is nullified. Rule Reference 409(b).

The major penalty is assessed and served in the normal manner. The order of the infractions occurring does not effect the termination of a minor penalty as a result of a goal being scored, in this instance.

Situation 6

During play the Referee signals a delayed penalty (a minor plus a misconduct) on a Team A player for Checking from Behind. During the period of the delayed whistle, Team B scores. What penalty, if any, must be served by the Team A player?

Only the misconduct penalty is served. Rule Reference 409(b).

The minor penalty is recorded on the scoresheet, but then terminated as a result of the goal. The misconduct penalty would be served in its entirety by the offending player.

Situation 7

Team A is playing shorthanded when a delayed penalty is signaled on Team B. During the delay, Team A scores. What actions should the officials take?

Even though there is a minor penalty being served by the team that scored the goal, for the purpose of this rule, the teams are considered to be at equal strength at the time of the goal. The delayed penalty to Team B is recorded but is immediately terminated and is not served. Rule reference 409(b).

Since Team A was shorthanded at the time the goal was scored, the delayed minor penalty against Team B is terminated as a result of the goal, just as if both teams were playing at equal strength.

Situation 8

Team A has two players serving non-coincidental minor penalties and Team B has one player serving a noncoincidental minor penalty. The Referee signals a delayed minor penalty against Team B and Team A (the shorthanded team) scores during the delayed penalty. What, if any penalties terminate as a result of the goal.

Even though there is a minor penalty being served by the team that scored the goal, for the purpose of this rule, the teams are considered to be at equal strength at the time of the goal. The delayed penalty to Team B is recorded but is immediately terminated and is not served. Rule reference 409(b).

Since Team A was shorthanded at the time the goal was scored, the delayed minor penalty against Team B is terminated as a result of the goal, just as if both teams were playing at equal strength.

Situation 9

With the goalkeeper off the ice for an extra player during a delayed calling of a penalty, a player of the non-offending team (Player X) has possession of the puck in front of his own unguarded goal. A player of the offending team (Player Y) swings his stick so that it makes contact with Player X’s stick, thereby causing the puck to enter the goal. Is the goal a legal goal?

No. Rule Reference 409(c).

The puck entered the goal as a direct result of the action of the offending team.

Coaches have kept sports alive in 2020. Has your kid's coach helped them through this crisis?Nominate them   for a chance to win $2500!