skip navigation


Situation One

During a scramble around the goal, the back end of the goal frame is accidentally lifted off the ice for a brief moment, but the goal posts remain properly positioned on the goal line. The moment the back of the goal lifts off the ice, a pass from behind the goal goes under the goal frame and directly out in front of the goal and an attacking player legally shoots the puck into the goal. Is the goal considered to be legal?

No. Rule Reference 105(b).

It is not necessary for the Referee to blow the whistle every time the goal frame momentarily lifts off the ice while the posts are in the proper position. However, it is not reasonable to allow a pass to take place that goes under the goal frame that has been lifted. In this instance, play should be stopped and a last play face-off occur.

Coaches have kept sports alive in 2020. Has your kid's coach helped them through this crisis?Nominate them   for a chance to win $2500!