Quantcast
skip navigation
Home Preface Rink Teams Equipment Penalties Officials Playing Rules Appendices

Goals and Assists

Situation 1

Can a player against whom a delayed penalty is signaled be credited with the scoring of a goal? Yes. Rule References 617(a) and 409(c).

When the puck enters the goal as a result of the actions of the defending team, the last player to play the puck shall be credited with the goal. This includes situations where a delayed penalty is in play.

Situation 2

The goal is tipped forward from behind as the result of player contact with the goal. The goal posts remain anchored to their position on the goal line. However, the cross bar pivots forward and down. Can a goal be scored while the goal is in this position?

No. Rule Reference 617(a).

The goal is considered to be displaced when the goal frame moves, causing the goal posts to no longer be on the same plane as the goal line (extended).

Situation 3

Player A1 shoots the puck which hits the goalkeeper and rebounds out to teammate A2. Player A2 then shoots the puck into the goal. Does the player who took the initial shot (A1) deserve an assist?

Yes. Rule Reference 617(a).

In the case of a rebound, only one assist can be given to the player who took the original shot.

Situation 4

During a scramble around the goal, the back end of the goal frame is accidentally lifted off the ice for a brief moment, but the goal posts remain properly positioned on the goal line. A pass from behind the goal goes under the goal frame and directly out in front of the goal. An attacking player then legally shoots the puck into the goal. Is the goal considered to be legal?

No. Rule References 617(a) and 105(b).

Even though the puck was legally propelled into the goal, the manner in which the pass was obtained from behind the goal was illegal. It is not necessary to blow the whistle every time the goal frame lifts off the ice. However, the Official must stop play at the instant the puck goes under the goal frame and enters the goal.

Situation 5

The White team scores a goal that is unobserved by the Referee so play continues. At the next stoppage of play, which happens to be a goal scored by the Blue team, the Linesman informs the Referee of the White goal and it is determined that White did indeed score the goal. What actions should the Referee take in this instance?

The White goal is awarded, the Blue goal is not counted and the officials put time back on the clock to the point where the goal was scored by the White team. Rule Reference 617(a).

Play would have technically stopped at the time that the White team had scored their goal, so any goal scored after that would not be counted (however, any penalties occurring would be assessed in the normal manner). The officials should use any resource available to them to best determine the time the White goal was scored so that time can be replaced on the clock and the game continued from that point.

Situation 6

The puck is shot by either an attacking or defending player and hits an Official. After hitting the Official, the puck hits the boards then rebounds into the goal. Is the goal allowed?

Yes. Rule Reference 617(c.3).

No goal may be scored from a direct deflection off an Official. However, if the puck deflects off an Official and then off any other obstruction, other than the goal post or cross bar, including any player, the goal must be allowed.